Home Scientific Research
Print E-mail

Scientific research

The research performed by CODA-CERVA is purpose-oriented research, which supports the Belgian science policy with respect to animal health and the safety of the food chain.

Scientific Research

This research is part of the reference laboratory missions and therefore aims at improving the scientific and technical levels of services performed by CODA-CERVA and in other laboratories involved in analyses for monitoring animal health or the quality of the food chain.

The different research programmes are grouped together into the following topics:

Three types of research programmes must be distinguished, which are connected to each other, but each with a different angle of approach.

Background research

Background research groups together the projects which must be performed by CODA-CERVA within the scope of its essential missions, including those of the reference laboratory, that is to say the scientific evaluation of the ground situation and the adaptation of the methods to this development. This activity also enables new leads to be explored within the scope of CODA-CERVA mission, and to collect together enough elements so as to submit a project for external financing where necessary. These programmes are performed by CODA-CERVA permanent staff and its Juridical Personality. Their orientation is subjected to approval from CODA-CERVA Scientific Council.

Contractual research

Contractual research is a more detailed research of certain aspects of the background research. It is financed by external funds originating, amongst others, from the European Union, the Federal Public Service, Public Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment (FPS) "contractual research" cell, the Belgian Science Policy, Communities and Regions, the Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS) (Belgian national fund for scientific research), CODA-CERVA Juridical Personality or from private partners.Scientific Research

As a federal scientific establishment researching grounded and fast scientific answers for federal powers, the research credits of federal origin must preferably be available so as to improve the quality of the services provided.

Epidemiological monitoring and risk analysis

These monitoring programmes are mostly complementary to the background research projects. They are approved by the FASFC (Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain)-FPS-CODA-CERVA consulting committee and performed by CCVD (Belgian coordination centre for veterinary diagnosis) associates, supported by CODA-CERVA staff.

The main monitoring programmes support FASFC actions in the field and relate to different significant animal illnesses such as salmonellosis, TSE diseases, swine fever, Avian Influenza, bluetongue, etc.

These monitoring programmes rely on results from analyses performed by CODA-CERVA or in Dierengezondheidszorg Vlaanderen (DGZ Vlaanderen) and ARSIA (Association Régionale de Snaté et d'Identification Animales) screening centres.

Indeed, upon request from FASFC and within the scope of ongoing struggles in the field, CCVD veterinarians are performing analyses and statistics relating to the prevalence of animal illnesses. Databanks such as SANITEL are indispensable tools for this work. The most common techniques used are monitoring and surveillance of animal illnesses, decision aid systems, risk analyses and biostatistics.

Scientific ResearchThe studies are performed on a macro-epidemiological scale. They often call on serological analyses and only take into account the parameters that have an impact on one single pathogenic agent (seropositivity, type of use, vaccination method).

Finally, CODA-CERVA also dedicates itself to studying new animal illnesses, to epidemiology and risk analysis for animal illnesses, mainly those with a direct or indirect impact on human health, as well as studying the role of wildlife in spreading these diseases. In this context, CODA-CERVA is currently developing an online national reporting strategy for new health problems ((re)emerging illnesses) in conjunction with FASFC, regional screening centres and the university faculties concerned.

Home Recherche Scientifique
Imprimer Envoyer

Recherche scientifique

La recherche réalisée au CODA-CERVA est une recherche à finalité qui vient en soutien à la politique fédérale en matière de santé animale et de sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire.

recherche scientifique

 

Cette recherche s'inscrit dans les missions de laboratoire de référence et vise donc à améliorer les niveaux scientifique et technique des prestations effectuées au CODA-CERVA et dans d'autres laboratoires impliqués dans les analyses pour la surveillance de la santé animale ou la qualité de la chaîne alimentaire.

Les différents programmes de recherche sont regroupés dans les thèmes suivants:

Il y a lieu de distinguer trois types de programmes de recherche, qui sont reliés entre eux mais ont chacun un angle d'approche différent.

Recherche de base

La recherche de base regroupe les projets que le CODA-CERVA est tenu de réaliser dans le cadre de ses missions essentielles en ce compris celles de laboratoire de référence, c'est-à-dire l'évaluation scientifique de la situation du terrain et l'adaptation des techniques à cette évolution. Cette activité permet également d'explorer des pistes nouvelles dans le domaine de la mission du CODA-CERVA et de rassembler suffisamment d'éléments afin de pouvoir, le cas échéant, soumettre un projet pour financement externe. Ces programmes sont réalisés par le personnel statutaire du CODA-CERVA et de sa Personnalité Juridique. Leur orientation est soumise à l'approbation du Conseil scientifique du CODA-CERVA.

Recherche contractuelle

La recherche contractuelle approfondit certains aspects de la recherche de base. Elle est financée par des fonds extérieurs provenant, entre autres, de l'Union européenne, de la cellule « recherche contractuelle » du Service public fédéral, Santé publique, sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire et environnement (SPF) , de la Politique Scientifique Fédérale, des Communautés et Régions, du Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS), de la Personnalité Juridique du CODA-CERVA ou de partenaires privés.recherche scientifique

 

En tant qu'établissement scientifique fédéral procurant des réponses scientifiquement fondées et rapides aux pouvoirs fédéraux, les crédits de recherche d'origine fédérale devraient être préférentiellement disponibles afin d'améliorer la qualité des services rendus.

Surveillance épidémiologique et analyse de risque

Ces programmes de surveillance sont, pour la majorité, complémentaires aux projets de recherche de base. Ils sont approuvés par le comité de concertation AFSCA (Agence fédérale pour la sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire)-SPF-CERVA et exécutés par les collaborateurs du CCDV, soutenus par du personnel du CODA-CERVA.

 

Les principaux programmes de surveillance viennent en soutien à des actions de l'AFSCA sur le terrain et concernent différentes maladies animales d'importance comme la salmonellose, les TSE, la peste porcine, l'Influenza aviaire, la fièvre catarrhale ovine, ...

 

Ces programmes de surveillance s'appuient sur les résultats d'analyses effectuées au CODA-CERVA ou dans les centres de dépistage de Direngezondheidszorg Vlaanderen (DGZ Vlaanderen) et de l'Association Régionale de Santé et d'Identification Animales (ARSIA).

 

En effet, à la demande de l'AFSCA et dans le cadre des actions de lutte en cours sur le terrain, les vétérinaires du CCDV procèdent à des analyses et des statistiques concernant la prévalence des maladies animales. Les banques de données telles que SANITEL sont des outils indispensables dans ce travail. Les techniques les plus souvent utilisées sont le monitoring et la surveillance des maladies animales, les systèmes d'aide à la décision, l'analyse des risques et la biostatistique.

recherche scientifique

 

Les études sont menées à l'échelle macro-épidémiologique. Elles font souvent appel à des analyses sérologiques et ne prennent en compte que les paramètres qui ont un impact sur un seul agent pathogène (séropositivité, type d'exploitation, méthode de vaccination).

 

Enfin, le CODA-CERVA se consacre également à l'étude des nouvelles maladies animales, à l'épidémiologie et à l'analyse de risque des maladies animales, principalement celles ayant un impact direct ou indirect sur la santé humaine ainsi que l'étude du rôle de la faune sauvage dans la dissémination de ces maladies.
Dans ce contexte, le CODA-CERVA développe actuellement une stratégie de rapportage national en ligne de problématiques sanitaires nouvelles (maladies (ré)émergentes) en collaboration avec l'AFSCA, les centres de dépistage régionaux et les facultés universitaires concernées.