Print E-mail

Topic for Research : Zoonosis

Zoonosis

Infections that pass from animals to humans have always been an important issue for veterinary medicine, and hence for CODA-CERVA as well.

Food-producing farm animals, house-pets and feral animals can become sources of infection in humans. Humans get infected by direct contact with infected animals or through animal products (excreta, post-parturition, wool, etc), or transmission of bacteria, viruses or parasites into the food-chain.


Very often the animal itself is not clinically ill, and the infection goes undetected. In humans, however, the symptoms may well be serious or even fatal.


For this reason, it is essential that there should suitable regulations relating to the hygiene and bio-safety for animal feeds, the animal itself, carcasses, meat, eggs and the like, also for the consumer (distribution of foodstuffs, preparation of food in the kitchen).

As far as the approach towards zoonoses in primary production is concerned, (in the living animal, which comes within CODA-CERVA's purview), it falls into three areas:

  • devising appropriate monitoring of animals that do not necessarily display any clinical symptoms,
  • swift and sensitive detection both in the field and in diagnostic laboratories, and
  • the prevention and treatment of infected animals.


Scientific research at CODA-CERVA as the national reference laboratory focuses primarily on the epidemiology of zoonoses, the study of host-germ interactions, perfecting accurate diagnostic techniques, developing potential preventive measures and the search for efficient combat methods.
A major European initiative became available with the zoonosis guidelines (92/117/EEG and 2003/99/EG), establishing the measures required to guard against certain animal zoonoses and animal products.

Zoonosis

There still remain considerable challenges for zoonoses that require attention: newly-emerging diseases , climate change, the mass international movements of people, animals and animal products, and the ease with which bacteria, viruses and parasites are able to pass from animals to humans: "One world, one health".

Moreover, even if international attention to this has faded, the use of zoonotic agents as a weapon in bioterrorism remains an area of research.

As far as bacterial infections are concerned, the closest attention is being paid at CODA-CERVA to brucellosis, leptospirosis, bovine tuberculosis, salmonella, paratuberculosis, Q fever and zoonotic E. coli infections, also germs that could be used for terrorist attacks, glanders, melioidosis, tularæmia, anthrax and plague.


Viral zoonoses
are most frequently caused by a virus that is pathogenic for animals and which can accidently infect humans.

Emerging zoonoses regularly appear which are due to either seemingly new agents or to micro¬organisms that are already known but which appear in places or species where the disease was thus far unknown.

Zoonosis

The virus is sometimes passed on through contact such as via the oral or respiratory route (e.g.: hantavirus infections, influenza) but more frequently via a wound (e.g.: rabies) or a bite (e.g.: arbovirus infections) and raises the importance of reservoirs and vectors that should be identified in order to control the disease.

In particular, arbovirus infections (Arthropod Borne Virus) are viral affections passed on by haematophagous arthropods (biting insects, mosquitoes or anopheles or even ticks).

The viruses involved belong to one of three 3 families = Toga, Bunya & Flavivirus. Arboviruses include several hundred viruses of which around fifty affect humans.

Arboviruses multiply both in vertebrates (and possibly in humans) and in arthropods. Insects become infected by sucking in the blood of these vertebrates. The virus multiplies in the digestive tract of the insect, spreads and reaches the saliva glands, where the virus multiplies reaching very high concentrations.

Insects which do not in any way suffer from this proliferation pass on the virus in their saliva to the next vertebrates that they bite.

Vertebrates are the reservoir for the virus and they are nearly always wild animals. In most cases, if humans are infected by being bitten by the vector, this is only an accidental phenomenon, and constitutes an impasse, because humans do not usually pass on the infection.

Cases include the West Nile Virus, the Rift Valley Fever and the Crimean Congo Fever and do not exist in Belgium, but they may emerge to varying degrees at any time.

Setting up alert systems for arbovirus infections is the aim of the European network of excellence, ARBOZOONET, with which CODA-CERVA is involved.

Imprimer Envoyer

Thème de recherche : Zoonoses

Zoonoses

Les infections qui se transmettent de l'animal à l'homme ont toujours occupé une place importante en recherche vétérinaire, et, par conséquent, pour le CODA-CERVA.

Tant les animaux destinés à la production d'aliments que les animaux de compagnie et les animaux sauvages peuvent être responsables d'infections chez l'homme. La contamination chez l'homme peut intervenir par contact direct avec des animaux infectés ou des matières issues de ces animaux (excrétions, placenta, laine, etc.) ou par transmission de bactéries, de virus ou de parasites dans la chaîne alimentaire.

Il arrive souvent que les animaux eux-mêmes ne présentent pas de symptômes cliniques et que l'infection passe inaperçue chez eux. Toutefois, chez l'homme, les symptômes peuvent être graves, et, parfois, entraîner le décès.

C'est la raison pour laquelle des mesures d'hygiène et de biosécurité adaptées sont essentielles, tant en ce qui concerne l'éleveur, l'animal lui-même, les carcasses, la viande, les œufs et autres produits similaires qu'en ce qui concerne le consommateur (distribution des aliments, ainsi que leur préparation en cuisine).

Pour ce qui est de la prise en charge des zoonoses dans la production primaire (chez l'animal vivant, ce qui constitue le terrain d'action du CODA-CERVA), elle se situe à différents niveaux :

  • mise en place d'une surveillance adaptée chez les animaux qui ne présentent pas nécessairement de symptômes cliniques,
  • détection rapide et sensible sur le terrain et dans les laboratoires de diagnostic,
  • prévention et traitement des animaux infectés.

La recherche scientifique au CODA-CERVA, laboratoire national de référence, est donc axée sur l'épidémiologie des zoonoses, l'étude des interactions entre le germe et son hôte, la mise au point de techniques de diagnostic précises, l'élaboration de mesures de prévention envisageables et la recherche de moyens de lutte efficaces.

Les directives dites « Zoonose » (92/117/CEE et 2003/99/CE) constituent une initiative européenne importante ; elles imposent des mesures de protection contre certaines zoonoses chez les animaux et les produits issus des animaux.Zoonoses

Il reste encore des défis de taille qui continuent de mobiliser l'attention à l'égard des zoonoses : les nouvelles maladies émergentes , le changement climatique, l'intensité du transport international de personnes, d'animaux et de produits issus des animaux, ainsi que la facilité avec laquelle les bactéries, les virus et les parasites se transmettent de l'animal à l'homme, à savoir le concept « un monde, une santé ».

Par ailleurs, bien que l'attention (internationale) accordée à cette question ait diminué, le recours aux agents zoonotiques en tant qu'armes bioterroristes continue de faire l'objet de recherches.

En ce qui concerne les infections bactériennes, le CODA-CERVA concentre principalement son attention sur la brucellose, la leptospirose, la tuberculose bovine, la salmonellose, la paratuberculose, la fièvre Q et les infections zoonotiques à E. coli, ainsi que sur les germes susceptibles d'être utilisés pour des attaques terroristes que sont la morve, la mélioïdose, la tularémie, la fièvre charbonneuse et la peste.

En ce qui concerne les zoonoses virales, elles sont le plus souvent provoquées par un virus pathogène pour l'animal qui peut accidentellement infecter l'homme.

Régulièrement, des zoonoses émergentes apparaissent, qui sont dues soit à des agents apparemment nouveaux soit à des micro-organismes déjà connus mais qui apparaissent dans des lieux ou au sein d'espèces chez lesquels la maladie était jusqu'alors inconnue.

Zoonoses

La transmission se fait parfois par contact comme la voie orale ou respiratoire (ex : hantaviroses, influenza) mais le plus souvent par blessure (ex : rage) ou piqûre (ex : arboviroses) et fait apparaître les notions importantes de réservoirs et vecteurs qu'il convient de bien identifier pour contrôler la maladie.

En particulier, les arboviroses (Arthropod Borne Virus) sont des affections virales transmises par des arthropodes hématophages (insectes piqueurs, moustiques ou anophèles ou bien tiques).

Les virus impliqués appartiennent à 3 familles = Toga, Bunya & Flavivirus. Les arbovirus représentent plusieurs centaines de virus dont une cinquantaine intéresse l'homme.

Les arbovirus se multiplient à la fois chez les vertébrés (et éventuellement l'homme) et chez les arthropodes. L'insecte s'infecte en aspirant le sang de ces vertébrés. Le virus se multiplie dans le tube digestif de l'insecte puis diffuse et gagne les glandes salivaires où la multiplication virale donne des concentrations de virus très élevées.

L'insecte, qui ne souffre aucunement de cette multiplication virale, transmettra le virus par sa salive au prochain vertébré qu'il va piquer.

Des vertébrés représentent le réservoir du virus et ce sont presque toujours des animaux sauvages. Dans la plupart des cas l'infection de l'homme piqué par le vecteur n'est qu'un phénomène accidentel, une impasse, l'homme ne perpétuant pas, habituellement, l'infection.

Citons le West Nile Virus, la Rift Valley Fever et la Crimean Congo Fever qui n'existent pas en Belgique mais peuvent émerger à des degrés divers à tout moment.

La mise en place de systèmes d'alerte pour les arboviroses est l'objet du réseau d'excellence Européen ARBOZOONET, auquel participe le CODA-CERVA.