Home About Us Objectives and Strategy

Objectives and Strategy

The CODA-CERVA's essential missions encompass the tasks of a public and scientific research service in the fields of veterinary medicine and food safety.

Objectives and strategy CODA-CERVA

 

The CODA-CERVA provides scientific and technical support, at both the national and international levels, concerning the control of communicable animal diseases, the protection of public health, the guarantee of animal and plant food production quality from the standpoint of zoonosis, residues and contaminants. This results in the following missions:


A. The improvement of diagnostic and prophylactic methods for more efficient control of animal diseases, with particular emphasis on diseases with a direct or indirect impact on human health.
- A new unit has been created whose specific mission is the development and implementation of molecular analyses, possibly in large numbers, for the detection and characterisation of particularly contagious viruses (list of the World Organisation for Animal Health, OIE)
- research into antibiotic resistance and, more specifically, into MRSA in animal species is intensifying in order to determine what impact these animal issues can have on human health


B. As a national reference laboratory (NRL) for Belgian and international authorities:Objectives and strategy CODA-CERVA

  • scientific research in view of the development and implementation of new scientific analytical techniques and methodologies related to veterinary medicine and food safety;
  • after isolation, identification and characterisation of aetiological agents, official confirmation of legally regulated diseases,
  • to effectively monitor all animal diseases and certain human pathogens, CODA-CERVA is in direct contact with the FAFSC and with regional screening centres and organises an on-call service (24/7) for urgent diagnostics.


C. The study of new animal diseases, epidemiology and animal disease risk analysis, mainly for those diseases with a direct or indirect impact on human health, along with the study of the role of wildlife in the dissemination of these diseases.

- In this context, the CODA-CERVA is currently developing a national online reporting strategy for new health issues ((re-)emergent diseases), in collaboration with the FAFSC, regional screening centres and with the concerned university faculties.

Objectives and strategy CODA-CERVA

 

D. Scientific research in view of the development and implementation of best scientific techniques and methods for the detection of contaminants and evolution of the risks for the quality and saftey of animal and plant production.

 

In order to accomplish its research mission, the CODA-CERVA employs various categories of personnel spread over the 4 operational directions : statutory agents, juridical personality staff and contract researchers funded by the Federal Public Service, Health, Food chain and Environment (FPS) the European Union and the Communities. In all, more than 180 researchers and technicians, sObjectives and strategy CODA-CERVAupported in their work by the administrative staff.


The more technically oriented reference tasks are performed in collaboration with the CODA-CERVA's scientific personnel, veterinary surgeons and engineers employed with FAFSC funding (Veterinary Diagnostic Coordination and Food Safety), staffing, along with the collection and stamping department.


In this context, the scientific staff is in charge of the scientific supervision and is solely responsible for reference tasks including pathogen isolation, identification and characterization, as well as the analyses of food and feed contaminants such as heavy metals and mycotoxins.

Home About Us Objectifs et stratégie

Objectifs et Stratégie

Les missions essentielles du CODA-CERVA comportent les tâches d´un service public et de recherche scientifique sur le plan de la médecine vétérinaire et de la sécurité alimentaire. Objectifs et stratégies CODA-CERVA

 

Le CODA-CERVA apporte un soutien scientifique et technique à l´échelle nationale et internationale en ce qui concerne la lutte contre les maladies animales, la protection de la santé humaine, la garantie de la sécurité des productions animales et végétales du point de vue des zoonoses, des contaminants et des résidus. Cela se traduit par les missions suivantes:


A. L'amélioration des méthodes de diagnostic et de la prophylaxie pour une lutte plus efficace contre les maladies animales, avec une attention particulière pour les maladies ayant un impact direct ou indirect sur la santé humaine.
- Une nouvelle unité a été créée qui a pour mission spécifique le développement et la réalisation d'Objectifs et stratégies CODA-CERVAanalyses moléculaires, éventuellement en grand nombre, pour la détection et la caractérisation de virus particulièrement contagieux (liste de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé Animale, OIE)
- Les recherches en antibiorésistance et plus particulièrement au sujet des MRSA dans les espèces animales s'intensifient afin de déterminer quel impact ces problématiques animales peuvent avoir sur la santé humaine.


B. En tant que laboratoire de référence (LNR) pour les instances belges et internationales:

  • la réalisation de recherches scientifiques en vue du développement et de la mise en pratique de nouvelles techniques et méthodes scientifiques en ce qui concerne la médecine vétérinaire et la sécurité alimentaire;
  • après isolement, l'identification et la caractérisation des agents étiologiques, la confirmation officielle des maladies légalement réglementées,
  • pour effectuer efficacement le suivi de l'ensemble des maladies animales et pour certains pathogènes humains, le CODA-CERVA est en relation directe avec l'AFSCA et les centres de dépistage régionaux et organise un service de garde (24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7) pour les diagnostics urgents.

 

C. L'étude des nouvelles maladies animales et l'épidémiologie et l'analyse de risque des maladies animales, principalement celles ayant un impact direct ou indirect sur la santé humaine ainsi que l'étude du rôle de la faune sauvage dans la dissémination de ces maladies.

- Dans ce contexte, le CODA-CERVA développe actuellement une stratégie de rapportage national en ligne de problématiques sanitaires nouvelles (maladies (ré)émergentes) en collaboration avec l'AFSCA, les centres de dépistage régionaux et lObjectifs et stratégies CODA-CERVAes facultés universitaires concernées.

 

D. La réalisation de recherches scientifiques en vue du développement et de la mise en pratique de meilleures techniques et méthodes scientifiques pour la détection de résidus contaminants et l'évaluation du risque concernant la qualité et la sécurité des produits d'origine animale et végétale.

 

Pour exécuter sa mission de recherche, le CODA-CERVA dispose de différentes catégories de personnel répartis entre les 4 directions opérationnelles: des agents statutaires, le personnel de la personnalité juridique et des chercheurs contractuels financés par le Service Public Fédéral, Santé publique, sécruité de la chaîne alimentaire et environnement (SPF), l´Union européenne et les Communautés. Au total, plus de 180 chercheurs et techniciens, soutenus dans leurs tâches par le personnel administratif .Objectifs et stratégies CODA-CERVA

 

Les tâches de référence de nature plutôt technique sont exécutées en collaboration entre le personnel scientifique du CODA-CERVA, les vétérinaires et ingénieurs engagés sous financement AFSCA (Coordination du Diagnostic Vétérinaire et Agence Alimentaire ), le personnel de la dotation, le service d´enlèvement et du stamping.

 

Dans ce contexte, le personnel scientifique s´occupe de l´encadrement scientifique et est seul responsable des tâches de référence comprenant l´isolement, l´identification et la caractérisation des agents pathogènes, de même que l'analyse de certains contaminants pour l'alimentation et le fourrage, comme les éléments traces et les mycotoxines.